Job Networking

MOAA Career Transition Resources

Folks, here are the most beneficial website links from MOAA career transition resources.  These are five common links National MOAA routinely direct our members and potential members towards:
1)      Career & Education Events – here we post our upcoming events (Air & Space, webinars, virtual career fairs, etc):https://www.moaa.org/content/events/transition/Career-and-Education-Events/   
2)      MOAA’s Marketing Yourself for a Second Publication (NOTE: must be a paid MOAA member to download):  https://www.moaa.org/content/publications-and-media/moaa-publications/marketing-yourself-detail/
3)      Archived Articles from The MOAA Newsletter (TMN) – click on dropdown menu to sort by category (Finance, Military Benefits, Transition & Career, etc):  https://www.moaa.org/content/publications-and-media/news-articles/news-listing/
4)      MOAA’s Job Board (NOTE: must be a paid member to access):https://www.moaa.org/content/benefits-and-discounts/transition-and-careers/moaas-job-board/
5)      MOAA’s Career Transition Center – how to request a resume critique, LinkedIn profile review, career consulting:  https://www.moaa.org/content/benefits-and-discounts/transition-and-careers/moaa-career-center-member-benefits/

My latest Networking Advice Below

4 July 2020

Job Recruitment Adopts Social Distancing as Coronavirus Alters Practices; <https://www.wsj.com/articles/job-recruitment-adopts-social-distancing-as-coronavirus-alters-practices-11592818202?mod=lead_feature_below_a_pos1

Bad Advertising! How Good is your CV or Resume?; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/bad-advertising-how-good-your-cv-ron-mayne/?trackingId=cOBmDJpcVlCGfode4ALkPQ%3D%3D

The Hidden Job Market | Networking | Sunday Career Success (with former CEO); <youtube.com

Recession Interview Tip #1: Mirroring in a video interview; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recession-interview-tip-1-mirroring-video-phil-rosenberg/?trackingId=23ynQnfhTcG7GgtW61eA6Q%3D%3D

Recession Interview Tip #2: Reschedule If This Just Happened; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recession-interview-tip-2-reschedule-just-happened-phil-rosenberg/?trackingId=8LfpqwN91gxGU8%2BfqsRDvQ%3D%3D

Recession Interview Tip #3: Do More; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/recession-interview-tip-3-do-more-phil-rosenberg/?trackingId=KC5rKp7Drdd3IcN8CQ%2F1bw%3D%3D

The Secret To Finding A Career That Motivates You; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/secret-finding-career-motivates-you-betty-kempa-cpc-eli-mp/?trackingId=PO5L77AXx6m061wJ9hTERw%3D%3D

4 of the Most In-Demand Supply Chain Roles Now; <https://www.thelasallenetwork.com/lasalle-network-blog/4-demand-supply-chain-roles-now/

Transform Your LinkedIn Presence Beyond a Resume; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/transform-your-linkedin-presence-beyond-resume-lamar-morgan/?trackingId=%2F%2Bje65Zq%2FobDmXuFCxtXOg%3D%3D

Want To Become A Franchise? 15 Important Things To Consider First; <https://www.forbes.com/sites/forbescoachescouncil/2020/06/09/want-to-become-a-franchise-15-important-things-to-consider-first/#5635c0934b82

5 Surprising New Interview Questions Post Quarantine; <https://www.thelasallenetwork.com/lasalle-network-blog/5-surprising-new-interview-questions-post-quarantine/

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

From Brian Anderson MOAA Career Transition
What is networking? Simply put, networking is about developing casual, professional relationships.

Regardless of your employment status, you should always cultivate and maintain a strong professional network. However, for servicemembers transitioning into a civilian career and for veterans seeking career advancement, networking takes on a heightened importance: It becomes your main source for information, job leads, and potential interview opportunities.

It is conservatively estimated 80% to 85% of all jobs come through networking. Therefore, you need to put in the right amount of effort on networking when you are in job-hunt mode.

Some people tend to spend too much time on résumé development when they should be expanding and strengthening their networks. Initially, I would recommend putting 75% of your time toward networking, with the rest spent on résumé preparation and other administrative tasks. Think of networking as your overarching system and your résumé as just one tool in the toolbox.

Bottom line: You should always be networking, whether you are actively looking for a job or not.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

How to Ace a Video Interview
By Yunita Ong, Editor at LinkedIn

More job interviews are taking place online during the pandemic, but there are certain features of interviewing via video that take some getting used to, experts say. Candidates can set themselves up for success by following these tips:
*Test out the video software your interviewer will be using.
*Rehearse your answers in front of a camera – it’s easy to get distracted by your own face on the screen.
*Practice exaggerating your emotions slightly on screen, since it’s harder to convey feelings virtually compared to in real life.

27 June 2020

Delivering an Authentic Elevator Pitch; <https://www.linkedin.com/learning/delivering-an-authentic-elevator-pitch

TIME IS MONEY: WORKING HOURS AND SALARY THE MAIN CAREER-CHANGE CONSIDERATIONS; <https://www.globalbankingandfinance.com/time-is-money-working-hours-and-salary-the-main-career-change-considerations/
All The Job Search Events You’ll Need Anytime Soon; <https://jobmob.co.il/blog/job-search-events-calendar/

Job Hunting During COVID-19? 6 Things You Need to Know About Remote Hiring Right Now; <https://www.themuse.com/advice/remote-hiring-coronavirus?_lrsc=7a712e29-f3aa-4265-8df7-979215925571&https://ad.doubleclick.net/ddm/clk/416115264;217525398;h?http://wellsfargojobs.com?utm_source=linkedin.com&utm_campaign=enterprise_media&utm_medium=social_media&utm_content=content&ss=paid

Let’s talk about social media in the middle of controversy; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/lets-talk-social-media-middle-controversy-evan-daniels/?trackingId=2pMj1kmWQMakGRpRWNga%2Bw%3D%3D

Laid Off Checklist: 11 Things You Need To Action On Now; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/laid-off-checklist-11-things-you-need-action-now-kempa-cpc-eli-mp/?trackingId=DyJdOluaDnwkDnWtkIkWfg%3D%3D

4 of the Most In-Demand Supply Chain Roles Now; <https://www.thelasallenetwork.com/lasalle-network-blog/4-demand-supply-chain-roles-now/

10 Ways to Land an Internship During COVID-19 (It’s Not Too Late!); <https://www.themuse.com/advice/find-remote-internships-other-opportunities-coronavirus-summer-2020

How to Research Company Culture; <https://careerresumes.com/how-to-research-company-culture/

Have you Updated your Facebook Profile for a Job Search?; <https://careerresumes.com/have-you-updated-your-facebook-profile-for-a-job-search/

Here’s How To Effectively Structure Your Job Search Efforts; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/heres-how-effectively-structure-your-job-search-kempa-cpc-eli-mp/?trackingId=cpaPbI3bhxJUpRk5jKaEOQ%3D%3D

Top Networking Mistakes To Avoid; <https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/top-networking-mistakes-avoid-bernardo-tirado-pmp/?articleId=6577894482518257665

6 Things You Can Do Right Now to Increase Your Job Security During the Pandemic (and Beyond); <https://www.themuse.com/advice/increase-job-security-uncertain-times-coronavirus